Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Two Bay of Plenty Senior Secondary Teams Selected for Northern Districts Tournament

Two Bay of Plenty Senior Secondary Teams Selected for Northern Districts Tournament

Posted: Wednesday, 25 November 2020

A vital link in the transition of Bay of Plenty Cricket players, from promising secondary school players to senior representative and professional cricket players, is the annual ND Senior Secondary cricket tournament played in December each year.

This season has seen a major change of venue, with the tournament shifting to a more central base in Rotorua from Gisborne, where it has been based in recent years. The ND Senior Secondary competition will be held 14th to the 18th December 2020.

Two Bay of Plenty teams representing the Lakeland (Eastern Bay of Plenty, Rotorua, Taupo) and Coastland (Western Bay of Plenty) regions have been selected for the five-day tournament, with many of the selected players having Baywide premier cricket experience.

Four further players, have been selected for the ND Invitational team which will again play in the annual tournament, which gives a further group of Bay of Plenty players the opportunity to showcase their skills, in Northern Districts representative competition.

Bay of Plenty Coastland, has a number of players in contention for the Northern Districts Under 19 team, which will play at the NZC National Tournament commencing 16th December 2020.

Because of the clash of dates, any players selected for the ND U19 team will be unavailable for the Coastland side. Contingency plans have seen a Coastland train-on group selected with a team reshuffle expected once the ND U19 side is announced.

ND Senior Secondary Tournament @ Rotorua 14-18 December 2020

Bay of Plenty Lakeland

Sam Lund, Ben Astwood, Harshdeep Kahlon, Angus Veitch, Brooke Mitchell, Cohen Stewart (Rotorua) Harry Jones, Lachland White, Travis Harte, Ethan Forbes (Eastern Bay of Plenty) Mathew Ward, Jordan Smith

Coach: Tai Bridgman-Raison              Manager: Tony Lund

Bay of Plenty Coastland

Chris Mascall, Harrison Leach, Isaac White, Niven Dovey, Tim Pringle, Liam Collett, Tommaso Pini, Blake Pentecost, Spencer Wills, Finn O’Brien O’Loan, Ben Vyver, one to be added

Coach: Peter Swan                              Manager: Shaun Riley

ND Invitational Team

Rhys Newbury, Robert Ward, Kade Smit, Darcy Collett.

Coastland Train-On Group

Joe Smythe, Riley Brady, Harsh Patel, Mathew Ward, Jordan Smith.

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno