Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
NZ Cricket Cup and Shield Results

NZ Cricket Cup and Shield Results

Posted: Wednesday, 14 March 2018

Tauranga Intermediate School, will represent the Bay of Plenty in the NZ Cricket National  Cup, Northern Districts playoffs, with the ND winner earning a berth in the National Primary Schools title deciders in Term Four.

After five rounds of T20 preliminary competition during February and March, Tauranga and Otumoetai Intermediate First XI’s squared off to decide the Bay of Plenty title, on Friday 9th March at the Alice Johnson Reserve in Papamoa.

Tauranga Intermediate took first use of the wicket and produced a batting blitzkrieg, when they posted 200 runs without losing a wicket. Utsav Kumar blasted 95 runs at a strike rate of 193 (per hundred balls) with Luke Spargo also in grand form with 90 runs.

The Otumoetai Intermediate boys made a brave attempt for victory posting 117/4, which in the vast majority of primary school games would be a winning total. Joel Griffiths top scored with 33 runs, with Flynn Williamson reaching 31 before dismissal.

In the battle for third place, Mount Maunganui Intermediate posted 152/4 and then bowled Aquinas College out for 88, to claim victory. Rotorua’s John Paul College took out fifth place in the nine team competition when they defeated Bethlehem College.

Individual statistics were claimed by an Aquinas batsman and a Mount Maunganui bowler. Tayte Marsh hit 159 runs during the competition with a top score of 107. Nine wickets from Angus Tustin, earned him top honours in the bowling stakes and best figures of four wickets at a cost of just 2 runs.

Tauranga Intermediate also took honours against Otumoetai Intermediate in the National Shield Girls competition. Otumoetai batted first and were restricted to 50 for the loss of seven wickets, with Tauranga Intermediate getting home without losing a wicket.

NZ Cricket National Cup (Boys) – BOPCA T20 Competition

Final: Tauranga Intermediate School 200/0 (Utsav Kumar 95, Luke Spargo 90) defeated Otumoetai Intermediate School 117/4 (Joel Griffiths 33, Flynn Williamson 31; Josh Espitalier 2/20)

Third Place: Mount Maunganui Intermediate 152/5 defeated Aquinas College 88/8

Fifth Place: John Paul College 72/2 defeated Bethlehem College 67/7

Most Runs                   159 - Tayte Marsh (Aquinas College)

Highest Score              107 - Tayte Marsh (Aquinas College)

Most Wickets              9 wickets - Angus Tustin (Mount Maunganui Intermediate)

Best Bowling              4/2 - Angus Tustin (Mount Maunganui Intermediate)

NZ Cricket National Cup (Girls) – BOPCA Competition

(Round Three) Otumoetai Intermediate School 50/7 lost to Tauranga Intermediate School 51/0

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno