Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Hamilton Win Back To Back ND Secondary Schoolgirls Cricket Title

Hamilton Win Back To Back ND Secondary Schoolgirls Cricket Title

Posted: Wednesday, 6 December 2017

Hamilton took out the ND Secondary Schoolgirls cricket tournament played at Fergusson Park in Tauranga this week (4-6 December 2017), winning all five games, on the way to lifting aloft the Louise Milliken Cup in triumph.  Waikato Valley finished in second place, with their only defeat being administered by the Waikato City team in round three of the Twenty 20 series. 

Hamilton wrapped up the tournament title, with another easy victory in the thirty over per side games that concluded the tournament. Northland won the toss and reached 100 for the loss of seven wickets, in their turn at bat. Mikayla Templeton, who picked up the most runs trophy at prizgiving, top scored with 31. Emma Watson and Sabrina Sidhu took three wickets apiece for Hamilton. In reply, Hamilton chased down their target in the sixteenth over for the loss of two wickets. The unbeaten tournament, run gave Hamilton back to back ND Secondary Schoolgirl championship titles. 

Waikato Valley cemented second place in the ND championship with a very big win over Bay of Plenty. The Waikato region side posted 280/4. An outstanding unbroken partnership of 155, put together by Quinn Robinson (103no) and Megan Keeley (64no), did the damage with the bat.  An outstanding bowling spell by Hannah Foster, who took four wickets for 6 runs including a hat-trick, did plenty of damage as the home side were bundled out for 37.

Poverty Bay set Counties Manukau a huge challenge when they posted 309 for the loss of just three wickets. Jayxena Piwari posted the tournaments highest score blasting an unbeaten 135, with Emma Hayes 75 not out. Counties Manukau were bowled out for 63, with Emma Hayes taking three wickets at a cost of 6 runs. 

ND Secondary Schoolgirls tournament @ Fergusson Park, Tauranga – 4-6 November 
Round Five – 30over per side
Waikato Valley 280/4 (Quinn Robinson 103no, Megan Keeley 64no) defeated Bay of Plenty 37 (Hannah Foster 4/6 including hat-trick)
Poverty Bay 309/3 (Jayxena Piwari 135no, Emma Hayes 75no) defeated 63 (Emma Hayes 3/6)
Northland 100/7 (Mikayla Templeton 31; Emma Walton 3/12, Sabrina Sidhu 3/13) lost to Hamilton 101/2 (Amy Smith 30, Georgina Harris 23no)

Round Four – T20
Bay of Plenty 145/3 (Kataraina Fredrickson 64no, Scout Kennedy 50) lost to Northland 147/2 (Mikayla Templeton 75no, Paige Witten 53no)
Counties Manukau 25 (Keita Perry 4/10) lost to Hamilton 26/0 in two overs
Poverty Bay 129/5 (Tayla Hollis 42; Erin Hunt 2/22) lost to Waikato Valley (Sarah Parker 76; Courtney Hayes 2/25)

Round Three – T20
Poverty Bay 149 (Mia Reeves 70no; Christina Gatenby-Hinton 3/9) defeated Bay of Plenty 34/8 (Bayleigh Colbert 2/6)
Hamilton 176/2 (Georgina Harris 69no, Amy Smith 42, Lucy Boucher 40no) defeated Waikato Valley 42 (Sabrina Sidhu 3/5, Georgina Harris 2/7)
Northland 197/2 (Mikayla Templeton 111no) defeated Counties Manukau 57 (Ella Farrell 22; Terina Hauraki 3/6)

Round Two – T20
Bay of Plenty 176/6 (Kataraina Fredrickson 50no) defeated Counties Manukau 64/8 (Kataraina Fredrickson 5/24, Leah Heron 3/20)
Poverty Bay 59 (Tayla Harris 24; Sabrina Sidhu 3/6) lost to Hamilton 61/3 (Georgina Harris 22no)
Northland 91 Mikayla Templeton 36; Vicky-Rose Green 2/7) lost to Waikato Valley 92/3 (Quinn Robinson 45)

Round One – T20
Hamilton 166/3 (Georgina Harris 55no, Sabrina Sidhu 50) defeated Bay of Plenty 50 (Emma Baker 3/7)
Waikato Valley 186/1 Sarah Parker 8no, Vicki-Rose Green 51no) defeated Counties Manukau 59
Poverty Bay 139/4 (Tayla Hollis 51no, Kayla Knight 45) defeated Northland 50 (Courtney Hayes 3/0)

Tournament Finishing Positions
1st Hamilton 2nd Waikato Valley   3rd Povert Bay   4th Northland   5th Bay of Plenty 6th Counties Manukau
Tournament Award Winners
Louise Milliken Cup - Hamilton
Top Batsman (most runs) – Makayla Templeton (Northland) 255 runs
Top Bowler (most wickets) – Hannah Foster (Waikato Valley) 9 wickets
Spirit Of Cricket Award – Jayden Watts (Counties Manukau)

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno