Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Drew Brierley Writes His Own piece Of Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup History

Drew Brierley Writes His Own piece Of Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup History

Posted: Monday, 2 March 2020

Round Four Results- 29th February 2020

Generation Homes Lake Taupo overseas player Drew Brierley wrote his own piece of Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup history, when he blasted his second century of the competition. against Bayleys Central Indians on Saturday (29 February 2020).

Batting first, Brierley and skipper Habib Malik put on a 111 run opening stand before Malik was removed for 33. Brierley continued on with Mark Mitchell, smacking thirteen 4's and a big shot over the boundary on the full, before he was eventually dismissed with 124 runs to his name. Mitchell carried onto post an unbeaten 57 runs,as the home team reached 269 for the loss of four wickets,

Led by a sterling 65 runs from Nadeera Nawela, the Rotorua combined side made a determined effort for victory before being bowled out for 210, to hand Lake Taupo a 49 run win. Moko Rivers was in top form with the ball taking four wickets at a cost of 41 runs.

The Williams Cup batting blitzkrieg continued at the Te Puke Domain, where Eves Realty Greerton chased down the New World Te Puke total of 223, courtesy of a Nick Hendrie unbeaten century. Te Puke's Dan Price worked hard to post his sides top score of 90, with skipper Stephen Crossan posting 41 runs. 

Hendrie went on the attack from the opening ball, to hammer an undefeated 131, in a whirlwind innings that contained eighteen 4's and four 6's. Pip Thickpenny (31) and Tom MacRury (24) made useful contributions, with ND all-rounder Brett Hampton hammering a quick fire 21 off just 10 balls.

Carrus Mount Maunganui veteran Nick Smith five wicket bag against Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College, played a big part in Tauranga Boys College being rolled for 59. Smith took five wickets for 13 runs, with Mitchell Fergus finishing with three wickets at a cost of just 11 runs. 

The home side got home for the win points on offer with the loss of three wickets,with Matt Golding (24no) and Tim Tomlinson (23no) getting their team over the line.

Defending Williams Cup champions Element IMF Cadets, were made to work for their five wicket win over Geyser City at Smallbone Park in Rotorua. The hosts batted first and were removed for 166, with Sam Kershaw and Cameron Ingram both reaching the forties before dismissal. Evergreen Cadets bowler Jono Boult took a four wicket bag. 

Cadets batsman Finn Dempsey anchored his sides reply with a unbeaten 72, hitting eleven 4's in his time at the crease. Liam Kelly was the best of the Rotorua sides bowling attack with three wickets for 25 runs.


Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup 29 February 2020 - Results

Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College 59 (Nick Smith 5/13, Mitchell Fergus 3/11) lost to Carrus Mount Maunganui 60/3 (Matt Golding 24no, Tim Tomlinson 23no)

Geyser City 166 (Sam Kershaw 49, Cameron Ingram 49; Jono Boult 4/19) lost to Element IMF Cadets 167/5 (Finn Dempsey 72no; Liam Kelly 3/28)

New World Te Puke 223 (Daniel Price 90, Stephen Crossan 41; Lee Watkins 3/36) lost to Eves Realty Greerton 224/2 (Nick Hendrie 131no, Pip Thickpenny 31)

Generation Homes Lake Taupo 269/4 (Drew Brierley 124, Mark Mitchell 57no, Habib Malik 33; Stephen Nicholls 2/54) defeated Bayleys Central Indians 210 (Nadeera Nawela 65, Stephen Nicholls 45; Moko Rivers 4/41)


Points Table: Cadets 31, Mount Maunganui 25, Greerton 25, Tauranga Boys College 21, Lake Taupo 19, Te Puke 12, Geyser City 6, Central Indians 4.


Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup 2020 Honours Board


143​Tim Clarke (Tauranga Boys College v Geyser City) 22 February

131no​Nick Hendrie (Greerton v Te Puke) 29 February

128​Drew Brierley (Lake Taupo v Tauranga Boys College) 8 February

124​Drew Brierley (Lake Taupo v Central Indians) 29 February

112​Ben Vyver (Tauranga Boys College v Central Indians) 1 February

101no​Sam Kershaw (Geyser City v Lake Taupo) 1 February

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno