Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Blast From The Past - Five

Blast From The Past - Five

Posted: Wednesday, 11 July 2018

BOP Prize Giving 2005-2016

In this edition of the Bay of Plenty Cricket Blast from the Past we look back at the Bay of Plenty Cricket prize-giving in 2006.
Bay of Plenty Cricket saluted excellence in cricket within the region with the presentation of the Bay of Plenty Cricket awards on Sunday (7 May 2006) at the Cosmopolitan Club, Mount Maunganui.

The Bay of Plenty Cricket player of the year is awarded to the Bay player who has the most impact on regional and national cricket during the season. For the second successive year Graeme Aldridge received the prestigious award. During the past twelve months Aldridge broke onto the international cricket stage with his selection for New Zealand Emerging Players and New Zealand A teams. 

Bay of Plenty youngster Amandeep Singh made a stunning entrance into Fergus Hickey Rosebowl cricket when he grabbed a hat trick against Counties Manukau during February 2006. The BOP Cricket awards will cap a remarkable season for the talented pace bowler. In the space of seven months Amandeep has progressed from the Tauranga Boys College first eleven to making his debut for ND. In recognition of his magnificent season Amandeep picked up the Derek Beard bowling trophy and the Brendon Bracewell most promising player of the year.
A new award this season is the BOP Cricket Club of the Year. The new trophy recognises a number of different criteria, which includes effective club administration, junior cricket participation, effective coaching programs and on field results. The inaugural winner of the club of the year is Mount Maunganui.

2005/2006 Bay of Plenty Cricket Awards 
Bay Of Plenty Cricket Player Of The Year Graeme Aldridge Mt Maunganui
Mike Wright Batting Trophy Llorne Howell Tauranga
Derek Beard Bowling Trophy Amandeep Singh Tauranga 
Brendon Bracewell Most Promising Player Trophy Amandeep Singh Tauranga 
Women’s Player Of The Year Kirbie Samkin Tauranga
Mike Nitz Most Promising Women’s Player Trophy Sarah Steenson
Development Team Batting Tai Bridgeman-Raison  Te Puke
Development Team Bowling Trent Boult Tauranaga
Williams Cup (Baywide Premier One-Day Championship) IMF Westland Cadets
BOP Cricket Club Of The Year Mount Maunganui
Mc Naughton Trophy (Baywide Reserve Grade Championship) Mount Maunganui
Attrill Cup (BOP Inter-Association Trophy) Eastern BOP/Tauranga (Shared)
Pongokawa Cup (Age Group Coastland V Lakeland) BOP Coastland
Bay Of Plenty Cricket Player Of The Month Awards – October James Galyer  – November Brett Jones  – December Kane Williamson   – February Amandeep Singh  – March BOP Senior Team
ND Trophies
Fergus Hickey Rosebowl Bay Of Plenty Senior Men’s Team
Eric Petrie Cup (ND Club Champions) IMF Westland Cadets


Share this page:

responsive website by xeno