Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Bay of Plenty Cricket Wins Four ND Trophies During The 2018-19 Representative Season

Bay of Plenty Cricket Wins Four ND Trophies During The 2018-19 Representative Season

Posted: Wednesday, 13 March 2019

Brian Dunning Trophy (Sr Men), Basil McBurney Trophy (Development), Alan Whimp Trophy (Sr Secondary) and Jr Secondary Twenty 20

Bay of Plenty Cricket representative teams, have won another four pieces of Northern Districts Cricket Silverware in the 2018-19 season, to rubber-stamp their credentials as the leading NZ Cricket Minor Association in the country.

The Bay of Plenty success is built upon player and coaching pathways that have been in operation for over two decades. There is no better example of the success of the BOPCA player pathway, than current Black Cap Captain Kane Williamson and Black Cap strike bowler Trent Boult.

The formal Bay of Plenty Cricket pathway kicked off with the appointment of Bay Trust CoachForce Officer David Johnson in 1997. The CoachForce position was funded by Sport Bay of Plenty, with the purpose of providing coaching support to the players and cricket coaches in the region. The Bay Trust CoachForce support of Bay of Plenty Cricket remains to this day.

The Bay of Plenty Senior Men’s team lifted aloft the Brian Dunning Trophy in triumph, at the ND Twenty 20 tournament played in Taupo, 16-18 December 2018, winning all five games. Bay of Plenty controlled all five matches and were never seriously troubled over the three days of play at Owen Delaney Park.

Bay of Plenty Coach Charles Williams said “The most pleasing aspect of the tournament win, was that not only did we execute the key skills of batting, bowling and fielding well, we also did the little things better than our oppositions. We did them consistently well during some of the hottest and physically draining conditions we have faced in Taupo”.

Bay of Plenty Development won the Basil McBurney Trophy for the second time in three years, when they finished their ND Development campaign, with a victory over Counties Manukau in their last ND Development match.

Victory over Counties re-inked Bay Development Coach Russell Williams earlier statements, which stated “The winning performances were spread throughout the players in the team, who stepped up with standout individual performances, in times of need.

The Bay of Plenty Development team finished their Basil McBurney Trophy campaign, with four wins from five matches. The Bay Development side blasted a remarkable 1204 runs and took 47 wickets in their five ND second eleven competition matches.

Bay of Plenty Coastland lifted aloft the Alan Whimp Trophy in triumph, at the end of the ND Senior Secondary cricket tournament played in Gisborne 10th-14th December 2018, after annexing the ND age-group title for the sixth time since 2004.

Bay of Plenty cricket followers wouldn’t have been surprised at the Bay sides success under the guidance of long-time team coach Peter Swan – however a few eyebrows would have been raised with the total dominance of the ND title decider against arch-rivals Hamilton.

The first mistake made by Hamilton was in electing to bat after winning the toss. Cam Riley struck quickly to take three top order wickets, which was further compounded by a run out orchestrated by Taylor Bettelheim, to have the opposition innings in tatters. Jacob Logan grabbed two wickets, as the vaunted Hamilton batting attack was removed for 80.

A walk in the park best describes the Coastland charge for championship honours, with the ten-wicket win coming with the fourth ball of the 13th over. Jacob Logan walked off with an unbeaten 49 runs in the book.

Bay of Plenty Coastland Junior Secondary representatives started the ND winning streak, when they won the ND Junior Secondary Twenty 20 title, in a rain shortened tournament in Rotorua. Bay of Plenty Coastland batted first in the T20 title decider against Hamilton, with Ben Vyver top scoring with 64 runs as his side posted 133/4. Four wickets to Isaac White, did plenty of damage, as Hamilton were removed for 88 to hand the Bay side a 45 run win.

Bay of Plenty Coastland kept their tournament unbeaten record intact, when they defeated the ND Invitation XI by four wickets on the last day of play, in the stand-alone fifty over matches.

There is no better testament to success of the Bay of Plenty Cricket pathway, than the emergence of another group of stars of the future during the 2018-19 season. Taylor Bettleheim, Dominic Crombie and Cameron Riley, all earned selection in the Bay of Plenty Senior Men’s, Development and Coastland Senior Secondary teams.

Tim Pringle had a good reason for missing the ND Senior Secondary tournament, due to ND Under 19 duty, at the NZ Cricket National Tournament. Marcel Collett was selected for all three Bay sides, but never took to the field of play for the senior men’s team after the Bay v Northland fixture was rained out.

BOPCA 2018-19 Representative Roll of Honour

Senior Men’s Team Centuries

135                  Bharat Popli v Counties Manukau

113no              Joe Carter v Counties Manukau

104                  Blair McKenzie

BOPCA All-Time Milestones

3000                Peter Drysdale v Counties Manukau 17/18 February 2019

2000 Runs       Brett Hampton v Northland 17 December 2018

150 wickets     Jono Boult v Northland 17 December 2018

100 wickets     Brett Hampton v Poverty Bay 16 December 2018

50 Games        Sean Davey v Counties Manukau 17 December 2018

Bay of Plenty Development Team Centuries

114      Ben Pomare                 v Counties Manukau

110      Fergus Lellman           v Waikato Valley

Six Wickets (or better)

7/25     Tim Pringle                 v Counties Manukau

Bay of Plenty Coastland Centuries

131      Taylor Bettleheim       v Counties Manukau

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno