Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket

Two Bay of Plenty Teams to Challenge For the ND Primary Title

Posted: Monday, 4 November 2019

Primary Boys Season Preview

Black Caps Kane Williamson, Trent Boult and Doug Bracewell, are three of the many graduates of the ND Primary tournaments, which is seen as the launching pad for the stars of the future.

The Black Cap captain along with his two ace New Zealand bowlers, represented Bay of Plenty Coastland, at the 2003 edition of the first ND age-group pathway competition.

Kane, showed that he was a star in waiting at the Intermediate school-age competition, finishing the tournament with 420 runs from four turns at bat with just one dismissal to his name.

The ND Primary competition, which is the first of the three ND age-group tournaments organized by Northern Districts Cricket each season, kicks off with round one on the 10th November, with round two seven days later. The competition climax follows on the 25/27 November, when the annual Primary championship is completed with three days of cricket in Cambridge.

Bay of Plenty enters two teams in the annual tournament, with BOPCA Coastland selected from the Western Bay of Plenty. The BOPCA Lakeland teams are selected from the most promising youngsters from the Eastern Bay of Plenty, Rotorua and Taupo.

Friendships will be forgotten in the opening round of the ND age-group tournament, when the two Bay of Plenty teams meet in head to head action, at the Te Puke Domain on Sunday 10th November.

The two Bay sides will warm-up for the three day Cambridge tournament, with a game apiece on Sunday 17th November. Bay of Plenty Lakeland will have an away trip to play Waikato Valley while Bay of Plenty Coastland will host Counties Manukau.

Bay of Plenty Lakeland Primary Team

Ben Clarke, Liam du Plessis, Jake Finlay, Zach Forster, Riley Kusabs, Tom Martin, Lucas Neill, Sohan Patel, Ethan Staddon, Thomas Yetsenga.

Non-Travelling Reserves: Harry Cheesman, Ryan Lloyd.

Coach: Dean Finlay                Manager: Mat Staddon

Bay of Plenty Coastland Primary Team

Angus Tustin (Captain) Harry Burns, Sebastian Heath, Dylan Henderson, Billy Ramsdem, Jake Riley, Bryn Robertson, Luke Scrimgeour, Jake Stott, Jack Williamson.

Non Travelling Reserves: Ollie Norwood, Charlie Williams, Dan Anderton, Nishi Patel.

Coach: Tai Bridgman-Raison             Mananger: Shaun Riley

ND Invitational Team: Callum Cornelius, Asa Banbury.

ND Primary Competition Schedule

10 November – Round One: BOPCA Lakeland v BOPCA Coastland, Te Puke Domain.

17 November – Round Two: BOPCA Lakeland v Waikato Valley (away); BOPCA Coastland v Counties Manukau (home)

25-27 November – ND Tournament @ Cambridge

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno