Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket

Mount Maunganui Bowler Claims Eight Wickets

Posted: Monday, 4 November 2019

2 November Bay of Plenty Cup Review

Long-time Carrus Mount Maunganui bowler Dale Swan, wrote his name into Baywide cricket history, when took eight wickets in his teams dramatic 81 run win over arch-rivals Element IMF Cadets.

Mount Maunganui batted first in the Battle of the Bridge game and were removed for 200 in the 48th over. Mount newcomer Tim Tomlinson, who previously played premier cricket in the City of Sails, top scored with 62 runs with Peter Drysdale chipping in with 29. Mayura Galappaththi was the best of the Cadets bowling attack returning 3/21.

Cadets made a solid start to their reply at 42 for the loss of two wickets. Enter the Mount Maunganui skipper, who wears his 200 premier game cap with absolute pride, who proceeded to destroy the Cadets innings. 

Four LBW decisions, two balls that spread the stumps and a caught and bowled along with a catch picked out by Tony Goodin, resulted in Cadets being dismissed for 119. The last Baywide eight wicket bag was taken by Black Cap Trent Boult in February 2013 returning figures of 8/37.

A New World Te Puke century took centre stage at Nicholson Field, where the visitors dispatched Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College, in a high scoring match-up. Te Puke took first use of the college strip, with opening batsman Tai Bridgman-Raison in top form in belting 87 runs. 

Batting at four, keeper Blair McKenzie anchored his teams innings as they posted 244/4. McKenzie played a patient innings of 109 posting a strike rate of 75 (per 100 balls) with ten 4's and a six. Tommaso Pini and Niven Dovey took two wickets apiece for Tauranga Boys.

Niven Dovey backed up his two wickets to top score with 61 runs with, Tim Clarke posting a handy 41, as the Tauranga students made a valiant attempt to chase down the solid target. The Te Puke bowlers tightened the screws to bowl their opponents out for 216, to claim their fourth win of the season.

Generation Homes Lake Taupo, picked up their second Bay of Plenty Cup win, after they set Geyser City a very solid target. Skipper Habib Malik opened his sides turn at bat and top scored with 72 runs. Michael Mitchell posted a unbeaten 60 as Lake Taupo reached 253/4 in their fifty overs.

Sam Kershaw (74) and BJ Astwood (41) provided plenty of defiance at the wicket, before their team was bowled out for 194, to hand Lake Taupo a 59 run victory. Moko Rivers was the best of the Lake Taupo bowlers taking three wickets at a cost of 44 runs.

Eves Realty Greerton posted the biggest score of the weekend, when they reached 308/6 against Bayleys Central Indians. Brett Hampton belted 88, with Taylor Bettelheim making a solid contribution with 74 runs. Umesh Ranaraja (51) and Bruce Kerr (47) also made significant contributions.

Six wickets from Jared Tutty, took his side home to a very big 187 run win, to re-ink their place at the top of the standings. Lovely Sandhu shone like a electric light at one end, as he worked his way to 78 before dismissal, as his team was bowled out for 121.

BOPCA Bay of Plenty Cup Results 2 November 2019

Carrus Mount Maunganui 200 (Tim Tomlinson 62, Peter Drysdale 29; Mayura Galappaththi 3/21, Fergus Lellman 2/31, Finn Dempsey 2/31) defeated Element IMF Cadets 119 (Jacob Logan 23; Dale Swan 8/19)

Generation Homes Lake Taupo 253/4 (Habib Malik 72, Michael Mitchell 60no, Roger Urbahn 44; Matt Collier 3/46) defeated Geyser City 194 (S Kershaw 74, BJ Astwood 41; Moko Rivers 3/44, AJ How 2/22, R Urbhan 2/34)

New World Te Puke 244/4 (Blair McKenzie 109, Tai Bridgman-Raison 87; Tommaso Pini 2/26, Niven Dovey 2/42) defeated Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College 216 (Niven Dovey 61, Tim Clarke 47, Isaac White 26; Iman Singh 2/20, Mikaere Leef 2/35, Christian MacDonald 2/42)

Eve's Realty Greerton 308/6 (Brett Hampton 88, Taylor Bettelheim 74, Umesh Ranaraja 51, Bruce Kerr 47; A Gibbs 2/55) defeated Bayleys Central Indians 121 (Lovely Sandu 78; Jared Tutty 6/55, Shane Wineti 2/10, B Hampton 2/45)

Points Table: Greerton 28, Te Puke 28, Mount Maunganui 25, Central Indians 16, Cadets 16, Lake Taupo CC 16, Tauranga Boys College 13, Geyser City 4.

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno