Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket

Bay of Plenty to Play in the Kaipara Flats Junior Girls Smash 15 Tournament

Posted: Wednesday, 6 November 2019

16/17 November Tournament Preview

Hard on the heels of the Bay of Plenty Girls Under 15 success at the Bay of Plenty tournament at Labour weekend, a Bay of Plenty team are participating at the Kaipara Flats Junior Girls SMASH 15 tournament this weekend (10/11 November 2019).

The Bay of Plenty team won the inaugural Bay of Plenty Girls Under 15 tournament, winning four straight games to lift aloft the trophy in triumph. The Bay of Plenty representatives defeated Taranaki and Manawatu representative sides along with a Cornwall Cricket Club side, in the preliminary rounds, before overpowering the Cornwall representatives in the title decider.

Cornwall bated first in the final and posted 112 for the loss of five wickets. Bay of Plenty got home for the loss of just four wickets with this weekend’s captain Mya Clarke leading the way with a sterling 33 runs.

“Northern Districts see this as an important part in the pathway to provide opportunities for players to beginning their representative careers, as do we. It is the first chance for players in our representative programme to play for Bay of Plenty.

“This is BOPCA’s stepping-stone to the U14 tournament at Easter and Secondary School Girls representative teams”, said Bay of Plenty Cricket Women’s Cricket Officer, Rebecca Yee.

Mya Clarke will captain the Bay of Plenty team for the first time, however she has a myriad of girl’s junior cricket experience, which will stand her in good stead in the far north tournament.

The Kaipara Flats event, will see all other five Northern Districts Cricket Associations field a side, in a round robin format of 15 over games. This will be the Bay of Plenty’s third appearance at the Northland Cricket venue tournament.

Kaipara Flats Junior Girls SMASH 15 Tournament 16/17 November 2019

Bay of Plenty Team

Mya Clarke – Captain (Te Puke HS) Macy Donaghy, Rachael Wahab (Otumoetai College) Annie Nolan, Grace Kahle (Aquinas College), Aimee Unwin (Tauranga Girls College), Sabine Attrill (Mount Maunganui Intermediate), Tazmin Rowland, Elly Shirley (Tauranga Intermediate)

Teams: Northland CA, Counties Manukau CA, Waikato Valley CA, Hamilton CA, Bay of Plenty CA, Poverty Bay CA.

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno