Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket

2019 McNaughton Trophy Gets Serious On Sunday

Posted: Thursday, 31 January 2019

Reserve Grade Quarter Finals This Weekend

There is no bigger Reserve Grade prize in Bay of Plenty Cricket than the McNaughton Trophy, with the 2018/19 season edition resuming action on Sunday (3 February 2019).

The origins of the Baywide Reserve Grade prize, come from the donation by the McNaughton Family in Te Puke, of a trophy for competition between second tier teams from the Tauranga and Te Puke sub-associations. A number of years ago the competition was expanded to include all Reserve Grade sides in Bay of Plenty Cricket.

Two-time McNaughton Trophy winners R&A Sangha, along with Papamoa and Greerton Sikh XI, won through to the quarter-finals, in the qualifying round on the 9th December 2018.

Papamoa Cricket Club announced its arrival as a force in Bay of Plenty second eleven cricket, when they dispatched (then) Western Bay Reserve competition leaders in the Singh CC, in the opening round. However the Papamoa McNaughton team, who are a combined side selected from the three Papamoa B Grade sides, face a very big challenge when they meet defending McNaughton titleholders Mount Maunganui in the quarter-finals at Blake Park.

Geyser City Sports from Rotorua, put on a several spirited performance last season to reach the McNaughton Final, before bowing to Mount Maunganui in the title decider. They host the Greerton Sikh side, who toppled the Mount Maunganui B Graders - with the Sikh sides stand-out player against the Mount, being bowler LS Bhatti who took a hat-trick in his five wicket bag.

R&A Sangha meet Aquinas College at Blake Park with Greerton and Te Puke rounding out the quarter-final action.

BOPCA McNaughton Trophy Quarter-Finals 3 February 2019 – 11am start

Mount Maunganui v Papamoa, Blake3; R&A Sangha v Aquinas College, Blake 2; Greerton v Te Puke, Pemberton Park; Geyser City Sports v Greerton Sikh XI, Smallbone Park.

24 February – Semi-Finals

17 March – McNaughton Trophy Final


Mc Naughton Trophy Round One Results

Papamoa 173/3 (Ryan Balsom 49, Mark Divehall 36, Andrew Goldsmith 36) defeated Singh CC 120 (Gurtej Billing 35no; Danny Pokai 3/10, Sean Crotty 2/19)

R&A Sangha 269 (Varinder Sandhu 90, Amardeep Tiwari 53; Amrinder Sidhu 36, GS Mahal 29; Sam Owen 4/27, Jim van der Vorm 2/40, Johnny Waite 2/56) defeated Cadets 186 (Grant Manners 75, Cameron Dunn 32no; Deepak Singh 5/28, Dev Sangha 2/20)

Mount Mauanganui B Grade 83 (David March 48; LS Bhatti 5/4 - includes a hat-trick) Greerton Sikh XI 86/6 (Sunil Gaur 27; James Cornelius 3/12, Mitchell Fergus 2/14)

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno