Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Greerton Take Out ND Club Championship Title

Greerton Take Out ND Club Championship Title

Posted: Monday, 25 February 2019

Club Takes the Eric Petrie Cup and Advances to the National Club Championships

Play got under way, in the ND Club Championships Final between Northland representatives Kamo and Eves Realty Greerton from the Bay of Plenty on Sunday (24 February 2019), in spite of hovering rain clouds around the Tauranga periphery - with Kamo winning the toss and electing to field.

After losing their first wicket for 15, Tom Renouf and Nick Hendrie came together to put on a 121 run stand for the second wicket. Hendrie fell for 54, with the Greerton keeper going on to top score with 61 off 113 balls.

At 175, for the loss of five wickets, the home side looked to be headed for a very big score. Some outstanding work in the field, resulted in the team from the far north effecting three run-outs of the last three Greerton batsmen, with the Bay of Plenty representatives being removed for 198. DJ Armitt took three wickets for 29 runs.

Kamo made a reasonably good start to chase down the required target, to have 52 runs on the board for the loss of just two wickets. DJ Armitt top scored with 31 runs before being dismissed, however the lack of substantial support partners cost Kamo dearly, as the Greerton bowlers took control of the encounter.

Kamo were bowled out for 135, with the second ball of the 41st over, to hand Greerton a solid 63 run victory. Josh Bates was the best of the home sides bowling grabbing three wickets for 17 runs, with Dan Spencer and Umesh Ranaraja taking two bowling scalps apiece.

Greerton received the Eric Petrie Cup for winning the ND Club Championship title and will now take their place in the National Club Championships, at Cornwall Park in Auckland 2-7 April 2019.

ND Club Championships Final 24 February 2019 @ Pemberton Park – Result

Eves Realty Greerton 198 (Tom Renouf 61, Nick Hendrie 54; DJ Armitt 3/29) defeated Kamo 135 (DJ Armitt 31; Josh Bates 3/17, Umesh Ranaraja 2/15, Dan Spencer 2/19)

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno