Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Element IMF Cadets Lay Down a Warning to the Bay Of Plenty Cup Contenders

Element IMF Cadets Lay Down a Warning to the Bay Of Plenty Cup Contenders

Posted: Monday, 21 October 2019

19 October Results

Element IMF Cadets delivered a warning to the other seven Bay of Plenty Cup contenders on Saturday (19 October 2019), that you write the Tauranga Domain based side off at your peril.

Sitting at the bottom of the points standings entering round three, Cadets were desperate to bank their first win points of the Bay of Plenty Cup, when they squared off with Bayleys Central Indians at Mitchell Park in Tauranga.

The Rotorua visitors took an unbeaten season start into the encounter and set the home side a very solid target, after being bowled out for 226. Sahil Rana top scored with a solid 65, with Stephen Nicholls continued his superb start to the new season with 57. Andrew Carter was the best of the hosts bowling attack taking three wickets for 42 runs.

Batting at three, ND batsman Joe Carter anchored his sides reply with a hard fought 89 runs. When Daniel Maathuis, batting at nine entered the arena, his team still needed thirty odd runs for victory. Maathuis put his head down to work his way to an unbeaten 20 runs, which took his side home to a extremely hard fought two wicket win.

Carrus Mount Maunganui, gave Generation Homes Lake Taupo a cricket lesson at Blake Park. Led by a well worked 91, from long-time Mount top order batsman Peter Drysdale, the home team posted 256/9. Ben Musgrave was also in good touch with his willow weapon to reach 80 before being dismissed. 

The visitors top score of eleven, told the tale of their batsman coming and going to the wicket, as they were bundled out for 76 with the first ball of the 26th over. Mount captain Dale Swan weaved some magic with his slow ball, to take four wickets for 12 runs, with former ND bowler Tony Goodin grabbing two wickets.

Defending Bay of Plenty Cup title holders, Eve's Realty Greerton remained the only unbeaten team in the title race, when they disposed of New World Te Puke in their top of the table clash. Te Puke were on the back foot for much of their time at the crease, with their top score of 37 coming from Gagandeep Samra batting at eight. Greerton newcomer Graham Hudson showcased his skill with the ball in hand, taking a six wicket bag.

Taylor Bettleheim, who made his Bay of Plenty senior representative debut last season while still at secondary school, led the way for his teams easy eight wicket win with an unbeaten 43 runs. A 57 run partnership with Nick Hendrie set the platform, with Bruce Kerr belting 37 off just 21 balls.

Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College teacher Tim Clarke, showed his team mates the way to put bat to ball as he top scored with 78 off 63 balls, batting first against Geyser City in Rotorua. In a match that was reduced to an initial 36 overs per side due to the inclement weather, the Tauranga students posted 187/8 in their allotted overs.

Geyser City were removed for 91, to give the Western Bay of Plenty visitors a  96 run win. Co-captain Tim Pringle who opened both his sides batting and bowling attack, with good success, returned figures of three wickets at a cost of 26 runs.

Bay of Plenty Cup 19 October 2019 - Results

New World Te Puke 105 (Gangandeep Samra 31, Stephen Crossan 27; Graham Hudson 6/56) lost Eves Realty Greerton 109/2 (Taylor Bettleheim 43no, Bruce Kerr 37, Nick Hendrie 22)

Carrus Mount Maunganui 256/9 (Peter Drysdale 91, Ben Musgrave 80, Ben Guild 24) defeated Generation Homes Lake Taupo 76 (Dale Swan 4/12, Tony Goodin 2/15)

Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College 187/8 (Tim Clarke 78, Tim Pringle 29, Blake Pentecoat 25; Dane Sorrenson 2/37) defeated Geyer City 91 (Tim Pringle 3/26, Kieran New 2/11, Cameron O'Dea 2/22)

Bayleys Central Indians 226 (Sahil Rana 65, Stephen Nicholls 57, Ben Sandford 37, Andrew Carter 3/42) lost to Element IMF Cadets 229/8 (Joe Carter 89, Andrew Mascall 32, Jono Boult 22, Daniel Maathuis 20no; S Nicholls 2/21, Andrew Gibbs 2/37)

Points Table (Provisional): Greerton 20, Central Indians 14, Te Puke 14, Tauranga Boys College 11, Mount Maunganui 11, Cadets 8, Lake Taupo CC 8, Geyser City 2.

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno