Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Baywide T20 Cricket Returns On Saturday

Baywide T20 Cricket Returns On Saturday

Posted: Thursday, 5 October 2017

Premier Cricket

The return of Twenty 20 cricket kicks off the 2017/18 cricket season, with the contenders lining up for the opening two rounds, at Fergusson Park in the Western Bay of Plenty on Saturday (7 October 2017).

The recent premier captains meeting endorsed the return of the all-action competition, after a break last season. Tauranga Boys College won the initial Baywide T20 championship in the 2011/12 season and banked back to back titles twelve months later. Rotorua Central ruled the roost in 2013/14 and 2014/15, with Otumoetai Cadets taking out the T20 crown two seasons ago.

Element IMF Cadets, will endeavor to flex their muscles at the picturesque Tauranga suburban park on the opening day of the season. Long-time Cadets stalwart Jono Boult, has taken over the skipper’s reigns and will lead his troops from the front. Scott Steward, Ben Christensen, Joe Carter and Sean Davey, who all have Bay of Plenty representative experience on their cricket CV, will form the backbone of the team.
New premier recruits GM Painters Lake Taupo CC, will find out about the fast lane of Baywide cricket, when they take on Eves Realty Greerton in early afternoon action. Formed just fifteen months ago, the team from the Great Lake region swept all challenges away, when they played (by invitation) in the Western Bay of Plenty Reserve Grade competition last season.

Current Baywide Champion of Champions Carrus Mount Maunganui, are sure to have set their sights on the only Baywide trophy to elude their grasp, after finishing runner-up to Rotorua Central in 2014. Dale Swan will again captain the Mount side, which can bat right down the order and has strong bowling attack.

Bayleys Central Indians, New World Te Puke and Greerton will all benefit from incumbent captains, with Andrew Gibbs, Stephen Crossan and Shane Wineti returning to lead their sides. Tauranga Boys College teacher Tim Clarke is the First XI sole captain/coach, after Charles Williams has stepped down to concentrate on his Bay of Plenty coaching responsibilities.

BOPCA T20 – 7 October 2017
Round One: New World Te Puke v Bayleys Central Indians, Fergusson4; Eves Realty Greerton v GM Painters Lake Taupo CC, Fergusson5; Element IMF Cadets, and Carrus Mount Maunganui the bye.

Round Two: Element IMF Cadets, v Eves Realty Greerton, Fergusson 4; GM Painters Lake Taupo Cricket Club v New World Te Puke, Fergusson5; Bayleys Central Indians v Carrus Mount Maunganui, Fergusson 7; Cooney Lees Morgan Tauranga Boys College the bye. 

BOPCA 2017/18 Baywide T20 Championship Schedule
14th October - Rounds 3&4 (Boord Park, Rotorua)
13th January - Rounds 5&6 (Fergusson Park)
20th January - Rounds 7 & Finals playoffs (TBA)
BOPCA T20 Championship
2011/12 (Tauranga Boys College) 2012/13 (Tauranga Boys College) 2013/14 (Rotorua Central) 2014/15 (Rotorua Central) 2015/16 (Otumoetai Cadets)

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno