Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket
Bay Of Plenty Coastland Go Twelve Straight At ND Senior Secondary Cricket Tournament

Bay Of Plenty Coastland Go Twelve Straight At ND Senior Secondary Cricket Tournament

Posted: Monday, 16 December 2019

2019 ND Senior Secondary Tournament 9th to 13th December

The Bay of Plenty Coastland Senior Secondary team, has posted a remarkable winning record at the annual ND tournament held in Gisborne, with 12 straight victories, since tasting defeat on the opening day of competition twelve months ago.

On the last day of competition on Friday (13 December 2019) they won the ND Senior Secondary Championship title, to go with last season’s Alan Whimp Trophy, along with the 2019 T20 crown.

The two 2019 ND Senior Secondary titles, are further testament to the outstanding contribution of long-serving Coach Peter Swan, who has won seven ND Age-Group Championship titles over the years.

Waikato Valley batted first in the title decider and were bowled out for 171. Liam Collett took three wickets for 28 runs with Taylor Bettleheim coming in as the sixth change grabbing two wickets.

The Waikato Valley bowlers made a grand start, having the Bay team in trouble at four down with just 36 runs on the board. Enter Blake Pentecost, who was patience personified, as he set about taking his side through to victory. Blake’s unbeaten 70 runs off 107 balls, took Bay of Plenty Coastland to back to back tournament titles. Isaac White also made a solid contribution batting at seven, with 22 runs. 

Bay of Plenty Lakeland saved their best for last in the playoff for seventh place against Poverty Bay. The tournament hosts were bowled out for 125, with BJ Astwood ripping through their middle and lower order to take five wickets at a cost of just 11 runs – and for good measure taking a catch to dismiss their last batsman.Lakeland got home with two wickets in hand with Cameron Ingram top scoring with 39 runs.


Heavy overnight rain in Poverty Bay didn’t stop Bay of Plenty Coastland booking a berth in the ND Senior Secondary Championship Final on Friday (13 December 2019) on day four.

The Bay of Plenty representatives squared off with Counties Manukau, in an afternoon semi-final encounter reduced to 27 over per side. Counties Manukau batted first and set the Bay side a solid target, when they posted 164 for the loss of three wickets. 

Coastland opener Taylor Bettleheim reached 27 before dismissal with Niven Dovey batting at three posting a very useful 41 runs. The Counties bowlers then struck back and it was left to Liam Collett who top scored with a hard fought 49 runs and Harrison Leach with a 50 run partnership, to get the Bay side over the line. 

Bay of Plenty Coastland cruised into the ND Senior Secondary Championship semi-finals, after easily dispatching their Lakeland Counterparts on day three. The Lakeland side batted first in the 50 overs per side contest and were bowled out for 68,with Tommaso Pini grabbing three wickets. Ben Vyver (35) and Taylor Bettelheim (24) took their side home to an easy victory in the 10th over. 


Coastland won the ND Senior Secondary T20 title, when they defeated long-time rivals Hamilton in afternoon action on day two. Hamilton batted first and were bowled out for 71, with Harrison Leach taking three wickets at a cost of just 12 runs. Niven Dovey top scored with 36, with Taylor Bettleheim there at the end of the seven wicket win with a undefeated 30 runs in the scorebook.

Bay of Plenty Lakeland were restricted to 85/8 against Waikato Valley in their fifth/sixth place finish match. Robert Ward was the best of the Lakeland batting line-up with 26 runs. Waikato Valley got home with eight wickets to spare. 


ND Senior Secondary Cricket Tournament @ Gisborne 9/13 December 2019

Day Five – 13 December 2019 (50 over)

Championship Final : Waikato Valley 171 (Liam Collett 3/28, Taylor Bettleheim 2/14) lost to Bay of Plenty Coastland 172/9 (Blake Pentecost 70no, Isaac White 22)

Seventh Place: Poverty Bay 125 (BJ Astwood 5/11. Ryan Hill 3/26) lost to Bay of Plenty Lakeland 126/8 (Cameron Ingram 39)


Day Four – 12 December 2019 (50 over)

Championship Semi-Final: Counties Manukau 164/3 lost to Bay of Plenty Coastland 165/7 (Liam Collett 49no, Niven Dovey 41, Taylor Bettelheim 27)


Day Three – 11 December 2019 (50 over)

Bay of Plenty Lakeland 68 (Tommaso Pini 3/28, Toby Taylor 2/21) lost to Bay of Plenty Coastland 69/2 (Ben Vyver 35, Taylor Bettleheim 24)


Day Two – 10 December 2019 (T20)

Round Three

Bay of Plenty Coastland 140/3 (Niven Dovey 66, Dillon Preston 49) defeated Counties Manukau 114/5 (Harrison Leach 2/7)

Poverty Bay 114/8 (Ryan Hall 3/16) defeated Bay of Plenty Lakeland 112/4 (Cameron Ingram 38)

Round Four – Championship Playoffs

T20 Championship: Hamilton 71 ((Harrison Leach 3/12) lost to Bay of Plenty Coastland 72/3 (Niven Dovey 30, Taylor Bettleheim 30no)

Fifth Place: Bay of Plenty Lakeland 86/5 (Robert Ward 26) lost to Waikato Valley 89/2 


Day One – 9 December 2019 (T20)

Round One

Bay of Plenty Lakeland 103/8 (BJ Astwood 20, Ryan Hall 20) lost to Counties Manukau 105/1

Bay of Plenty Coastland 178/5 (Taylor Bettleheim 81, Ben Vyver 31) defeated Poverty Bay 103/6 (Tommaso Pini 2/12, Mitchell Fergus 2/15)

Round Two

Bay of Plenty Lakeland 62 (Cameron Murray 5/9) lost to Bay of Plenty Coastland 63/0 (Taylor Bettleheim 43no, Dillon Preston 16no)

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno