Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket

Mount Maunganui Defeat Greerton in Baywide Twenty 20 Championship Final

Posted: Monday, 21 January 2019

Back to Back Titles for Mount Maunganui

Carrus Mount Maunganui took out back to back Baywide Twenty 20 titles, when they beat Eves Realty Greerton in the title decider at Fergusson Park on Saturday (19 January 2019). Mount Maunganui joins Tauranga Boys College and Rotorua Central, as two-time winners of the all-action Baywide premier competition, which kicked of in the 2011/12 season.

Greerton won the toss and elected to bat, with tight Mount Maunganui bowling restricting their attempts to hit out. The key wicket of Brett Hampton for just 2 runs and two run-outs, turned the momentum firmly in Mount Maunganui’s favour, as Greerton were then removed for 98. Umesh Ranaraja top scored for Greerton with 39 runs. Mount off-spinner Peter Drysdale grabbed  three wickets at a cost of just 8 runs, with skipper Dale Swan also taking three bowling scalps.

“We were very very happy with our fielding, with a clinical performance that dried up the Greerton batting attack pursuits of runs. Two run-outs played a big part in removing Greerton for just 98” said Dale Swan.

The defending titleholders went on the offensive and got home with seven wickets to spare. Dan Smith capped the day with a second solid batting performance, with a unbeaten 40, while Ben Musgrave reached the 35 run mark before dismissal.

“The key to victory was a disciplined approach to both batting and bowling on the day and sticking to our game plan throughout the encounter” said the Mount Maunganui captain.

Earlier in the afternoon, Greerton finished at the top of the qualifying standings, dispatching Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College by 112 runs. Brett Hampton blasted his side to victory, with 94 off just 33 balls, in a whirlwind innings that contained nine 4’s and seven 6’s.

Mount Maunganui cemented their place in the final when they beat GM Painters Lake Taupo CC. Led by 67 from Dale Smith, Mount Maunganui posted 156/4 and then restricted the Taupo side to 121 for the loss of five wickets.

Bayleys Central Indians can be pleased with their Baywide T20 campaign, in finishing in equal third, with Element IMF Cadets (who sat out the round seven bye).  The Rotorua side restricted New World Te Puke to 137 for seven wickets, in the last qualifying stanza, before getting home for the loss of five wickets

Bay of Plenty Cricket 19 January 2019

BOPCA Twenty 20 Championship Final

Eves Realty Greerton 98 (U Ranaraja 39, H Collier 27; P Drysdale 3/8, D Swan 3/18) lost to Carrus Mount Maunganui 101/3 (D Smith 40no, B Musgrave 35)

Round Seven

Eves Realty Greerton 213/6 (B Hampton 94, U Ranaraja 55) defeated Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College 101/8 (D Preston 22)

New World Te Puke 137/7 (B McKenzie 28, J Earle 25, T Bridgman-Raison 25; J Rowe 2/19) lost to Bayleys Central Indians 140/5 (A Gibbs 23no, B Sandford 21; L Elliffe 2/20, M Leef 2/23)

Carrus Mount Maunganui 156/4 (D Smith 67) defeated GM Painters Lake Taupo CC 121/5 (C Baldry 2/19)

Element IMF Cadets the bye

Points Table (Final): Greerton 33, Mount Maunganui 30, Central Indians 18, Cadets 18, Lake Taupo CC 12, Te Puke 9, Tauranga Boys College 6.

BOPCA Twenty 20 Championship

2011/12 (Tauranga Boys College) 2012/13 (Tauranga Boys College) 2013/14 (Rotorua Central) 2014/15 (Rotorua Central) 2015/16 (Otumoetai Cadets) 2016/17 not played - 2017/18 (Mount Maunganui) 2018/19 (Mount Maunganui).

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno