Want to play cricket? Junior Cricket Senior Cricket

Mount Maunganui and Greerton to Battle Out Baywide Twenty 20 Title On Saturday

Posted: Friday, 18 January 2019

First 2019 Baywide Title

The boundary ropes at Fergusson Park are likely to be under fire on Saturday (19 January 2019) afternoon, as Carrus Mount Maunganui and Eves Realty Greerton, go in to battle in the Baywide Twenty 20 title decider.

The two sides to contest the BOPCA Twenty 20 Final, qualified to square off in the Baywide smash and bash last weekend, with the final qualifying round still to be played in early Saturday afternoon action.

Mount Maunganui and Greerton have banked enough points to go into battle, for the first Baywide title to be decided in 2019, with the nearest challenger in Element IMF Cadets sitting out the round seven bye.

Defending Baywide Twenty 20 titleholder Mount Maunganui, won a battle of attrition with long-time rivals Cadets in last weekends late-afternoon round six, to grab a place in the T20 Final.

Cadets won the toss and after asking their opponents to bat, appeared to be in the box seat, when they rolled the Mount for 56. Mount Maunganui youngster Craig Baldry,  then worked his spin attack to grand effect to remove five Cadets batsmen at a cost of just 10 runs, as Cadets were removed for 46.

Consistent success in Twenty 20 cricket relies primarily on the batsmen taking control, with both finalists having batsmen who like to take aim on the boundary ropes.

Greerton master batsmen Brett Hampton, sits a street ahead of the other T20 batsmen on the leader board, with 235 runs and a highest score of 155 from just two matches. Hampton is a genuine game winner, however the Mount bowlers are likely to pay him special attention when he arrives at the crease

Pip Thickpenny, who has returned to the Greerton premier ranks after an injury break and Henry Collier, both hold down places in the top five batting stakes. Lee Watkins, Nick Hendrie and skipper Shane Wineti have all been in solid form in Baywide cricket from season start.

Sitting in second spot in the batting stakes is evergreen Mount Maunganui all-rounder Peter Drysdale, who can bat up and down the order with ease, with his measured approach to scoring runs. Bay of Plenty representative Ben Musgrave, Dan Smith and Matt Golding also provide the defending title-holders with plenty of firepower at the batting crease.

The early afternoon final qualifying round see Mount Maunganui heavily favoured to defeat GM Painters Lake Taupo CC, with Greerton likely to cement their place at the top of the standings, against Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College. Bragging rights will be on the line when New World Te Puke and Bayleys Central Indians meet in the other final qualifying match.

BOPCA Twenty 20 19 January 2019 (Fergusson Park)

Round Seven: GM Painters Lake Taupo CC v Carrus Mount Maunganui, Bayleys Central Indians v New World Te Puke, Bond & Co Tauranga Boys College v Eves Realty Greerton, Element IMF Cadets the bye.3pm – Baywide Twenty 20 Final

Points Table: Greerton 27, Mount Maunganui 24, Cadets 18, Lake Taupo CC 12, Central Indians 12, Te Puke 9, Tauranga Boys College 6.

BOPCA Twenty 20 Honours Board

Centuries – 155 Brett Hampton v Te Puke (6 October 2018)

BOPCA Twenty 20 Championship

2011/12 (Tauranga Boys College) 2012/13 (Tauranga Boys College) 2013/14 (Rotorua Central) 2014/15 (Rotorua Central) 2015/16 (Otumoetai Cadets) 2016/17 not played 2017/18 (Mount Maunganui)

Share this page:

responsive website by xeno